Housecall Pro Review Automation: From "Job Finished" to Five Stars on Google
Housecall Pro's built-in ask is a solid start, but the review work that wins plumbing, HVAC and electrical searches happens after the request goes out. This page sets out that gap and the ten-minute Zapier recipe that closes it.
Reading this for your own business? See where it stands on Google right now. It's free, with no signup.
Live from Google · free · nothing is stored
Does Housecall Pro automate review requests by itself?
Yes. Every Housecall Pro plan, Basic included, ships with review management that automatically texts or emails customers a review link when a tech taps “Finish” or the invoice gets paid. Keep it, and add ReputeMap for the Google side: for a plumbing, HVAC or electrical shop that wants every review answered, or an agency running several HCP contractors, ReputeMap is the better tool for everything after the ask. Every request it sends points at Google, a 1–3★ alert email carries a reply drafted in the reviewer’s language that you publish without logging in, one inbox covers every location, and Pro adds white-label reports. It costs $19 a month for one location or $29 for five.
The built-in feature is useful, and it’s included at every tier. Housecall Pro’s pricing page (checked October 1, 2026) lists “Review management” on every plan, Basic included at $79/month ($59/month billed annually, one user). Its Reviews Overview help article (updated August 18, 2026) says requests go out by email and text when a job is finished, or after payment if you change the setting. By default it sends customers with a Gmail address to Google and splits everyone else between Facebook and your website; you can change the split or set Google to 100%. ReputeMap wrote this page, and Housecall Pro’s facts carry the date we read them.
So if the software already asks, why does one shop sit at 40 Google reviews while the outfit across town has 400? Because 97% of consumers read reviews for local businesses (BrightLocal Local Consumer Review Survey 2026), and the shops winning those readers treat the automated request as step one of five, not the whole job. Asking is a feature; turning reviews into rankings takes a system.
Where the built-in reviews stop and the real work starts
This is the breakdown, job by job. Neither column is wrong; they do different work.
| The job to be done | Housecall Pro built-in | ReputeMap on top |
|---|---|---|
| Ask for the review | Automatic SMS + email when the job is finished or paid | Email requests and tracked short links on every plan; campaigns with automatic reminders and per-tech QR codes from Growth; no SMS, by design |
| Choose the platform | By default, Gmail customers to Google, everyone else split between Facebook and your website; adjustable, Google up to 100% | Google only: the profile that decides Map Pack rankings |
| Answer the review | Replies are a Premium Reviews feature, from the dashboard, with a “Write it for me” AI suggestion | AI drafts a reply in the owner’s voice; the owner approves; ReputeMap publishes to Google, with reply-SLA tracking on Growth |
| Publish a reply from the alert email (no login) | Not stated | Yes: the 1–3★ alert email’s “Review & publish reply →” link |
| Replies in the reviewer’s language | Not stated | Yes: drafted in the language the review was written in |
| Catch the angry customer | Instant notifications when feedback is submitted | Negative-review alerts within minutes by email, Telegram or WhatsApp on every plan, plus, from Growth, NPS/stars/thumbs surveys with a detractor rescue queue |
| Credit the technician | Job record names the assigned service pro | Staff leaderboard with per-employee QR links (Growth) |
| Report to a client | Not stated | White-label PDF reports, branded client portal, prospect audit PDF generator (Pro) |
| Compare with local competitors | Not stated | Competitor comparison (you add their public rating and review count), plus an embeddable Google-review widget for the shop’s site (every plan) |
| Cost of entry | Included on every plan; Basic is $79/mo ($59 billed annually), one user | From $19/mo (Solo: 1 location); $29/mo for 5 locations and 3 seats (Starter) |
Last checked: Housecall Pro’s pricing page and its Reviews Overview help article (updated August 18, 2026), both read October 1, 2026; the feedback-notification and technician details are from its documentation as we read it in July 2026. “Not stated” means Housecall Pro’s help article doesn’t mention it.
Two notes on that table. First, Housecall Pro sends SMS review requests and ReputeMap doesn’t: ReputeMap asks by email, QR code and tracked short link only. If texting is your primary channel, keep the native HCP request switched on and let ReputeMap handle everything downstream. The two stack; you don’t have to pick. Second, Housecall Pro’s reply capability is real. Replying is a Premium Reviews feature, and its “Write it for me” button suggests a reply. The difference is where the reply happens, not whether there is one or whether AI helps write it: in ReputeMap the draft arrives inside the 1–3★ alert and publishes from the email, an agency can own the approval step, and a reply-SLA clock (Growth) keeps any review from sitting unanswered for three weeks. The same request-layer distinction, FSM add-on versus dedicated tooling, is covered in our guide to review request software.
What ReputeMap adds that Housecall Pro’s reviews don’t
Against the built-in feature as Housecall Pro documents it, ReputeMap is the better choice for the Google side in five ways:
- Every ask lands on Google. Housecall Pro’s default sends only Gmail customers to Google; every ReputeMap request opens your Google review form. (If you keep the HCP text ask running, set its Google share to 100% too.)
- The reply arrives with the alert. A 1–3★ review triggers an alert by email, Telegram or WhatsApp on every plan. The email quotes the drafted reply, and its “Review & publish reply →” link (personal, single-use, valid for 7 days) publishes it from the truck without logging in; a Telegram private chat does it in one tap. WhatsApp carries the alert only.
- Replies in the reviewer’s language. Each draft is written in the language the review was written in. Housecall Pro’s help article doesn’t say what language “Write it for me” uses.
- One queue for every location. Starter covers 5 locations and 3 team seats for $29 a month, Growth 15 locations and 10 seats for $79, and every location’s Google reviews land in the same inbox, so an owner with two shops or an agency with ten contractors works one list.
- Agency delivery. On Pro ($129/mo, 30 locations), white-label PDF reports, the client portal and the review-ask page carry your brand, and the audit generator pitches the next contractor.
Start your 14-day free trial alongside your Housecall Pro account: ReputeMap reads your reviews straight from Google, so nothing in Housecall Pro has to change.
Why dispatch-day timing decides Google ratings in the trades
A lawn-care customer can get the ask tomorrow and still leave five stars. The Housecall Pro customer base skews plumbing, HVAC and electrical, trades where the job usually started as a small emergency: the water heater died, the AC quit in a heat wave, half the panel went dark. That changes review psychology in two ways.
First, gratitude peaks at relief and decays fast. The customer who watched hot water come back at 4 p.m. is a different person by Saturday; the crisis is a memory and the invoice is what’s left. The ask has to land dispatch day, ideally within the hour the truck pulls away. Housecall Pro’s finish-triggered request gets this timing right. The mistake is treating one message as a campaign. On Growth and above, a ReputeMap campaign follows the initial ask with an automatic email reminder, so customers who meant to leave a review but got distracted see it again, politely, with a clean opt-out.
Second, emergency customers are often one-and-done. They hired you once under stress and may not need a plumber again for three years. You get exactly one window to convert that job into a permanent public asset. That’s why review velocity in the trades is a same-day discipline. We go deeper on it in review management for plumbers and the other trades and across home services.
One rule holds the whole system together: no gating, ever. Every customer gets the same ask, thrilled or furious. ReputeMap’s surveys (Growth and above) catch unhappy respondents in a detractor rescue queue so the owner can call and fix it, but nobody is filtered away from the public review link. That’s the FTC line, and the full playbook is in how to ask customers for reviews.
The ten-minute Zapier recipe: Housecall Pro to ReputeMap
To be precise about what exists: there is no native ReputeMap–Housecall Pro integration, and our native Zapier app is on the roadmap, not shipped. What works today is Zapier’s generic “Webhooks by Zapier” action pointed at ReputeMap’s public REST API. Webhooks by Zapier is not on Zapier’s free plan: it needs a paid Zapier plan (Professional or higher). Setup:
- Check both plans. Housecall Pro includes Zapier on its Essentials, Essentials+ and MAX plans, not Basic. On the ReputeMap side any plan works: API access and per-org API keys are included on every plan, from Solo ($19/mo) up, and during the 14-day trial.
- Create the trigger. App: Housecall Pro. Event: “Job Finished”; Zapier’s directory lists it as “New Completed Job”. It fires the moment your dispatcher or tech marks the job done, which is the relief window described above.
- Add the action. Webhooks by Zapier → POST. URL:
https://api.reputemap.com/api/v1/review-requests. Add one header:X-API-Key, with the key from your ReputeMap org settings. - Map the payload. Customer name and email from the job record, plus the location. The API takes only those; per-technician credit comes from each tech’s own QR link (below), not from the request.
- Test with a real completed job. You should see the request go out from ReputeMap with a tracked short link generated. An API request is a single ask, with no reminder; when you want one automatic reminder for everyone who hasn’t reviewed, send the list as a campaign (Growth and above).
The general version of this recipe, for any FSM or CRM, is in our Zapier Google review requests walkthrough. Running Jobber for some clients too? Same wiring, different trigger: see Jobber review automation.
Who actually earned that review? Per-technician QR codes and the leaderboard
Read fifty reviews of any good HVAC company and you’ll notice they aren’t about the company. They’re about Mike, who found the cracked heat exchanger, or Dana, who showed up at 9 p.m. with the right capacitor on the truck. Reviews in the trades are earned in the driveway, by name, but most shops track them as one undifferentiated pile.
On Growth and above, ReputeMap gives every employee their own QR link, so every customer who scans Mike’s card counts toward Mike on the staff leaderboard, without asking anyone to name him in a review. That matters: Google’s review policy bars asking for specific content in a review, including a staff member’s name. Print each tech’s code on a card for the truck, or laminate it to the invoice clipboard. The staff leaderboard then shows which techs send the most customers to your Google review form. It counts those visits, not reviews: Google doesn’t say which review came from which customer, and ReputeMap doesn’t guess. Use it to coach, not as a target: the same policy bars asking staff to bring in a set number of reviews.
The card works because it travels with the customer. At handoff, the tech gives every customer the same neutral line (“here’s where to leave a Google review, if you’d like to”) and leaves the card; the customer scans it later, on their own time, and the job-finished email from the recipe above follows up. Never ask only the customers who look happy, and never wait while someone writes a review: both break Google’s review policy.
For agencies: turning HCP contractors into a review retainer
If you’re an agency or local-SEO consultant with a book of Housecall Pro contractors, this stack is a productizable monthly service, not a one-time setup. ReputeMap Pro ($129/mo, 30 locations, about $4.30 per location) carries the agency kit: full white-label PDF reports with your logo, a branded client portal, and a prospect audit PDF generator for pitching the next contractor in the market. Competitor comparison (you add a rival’s public rating and review count) gives every monthly report a narrative, such as “you’re 0.3 stars behind the biggest HVAC shop in the county, and closing”. The multi-location dashboard with reply-SLA turns “are we responding to reviews?” into a number you can bill against.
The timing argument is getting stronger, too: 45% of consumers now use ChatGPT or generative-AI tools for local recommendations, up from 6% a year earlier (BrightLocal LCRS 2026). The Google profile this system feeds is the corpus those tools read from.
Plans: Solo $19/mo (1 location), Starter $29/mo (5 locations, 3 seats), Growth $79/mo (15 locations, 10 seats; adds campaigns with automatic reminders, the staff leaderboard, surveys and SLA tracking), Pro $129/mo (30 locations, 25 seats; adds white-label reports, the audit generator and scheduled report emails). Email, Telegram and WhatsApp alerts and API access come with every plan, so this Zapier recipe works on any of them. Monthly rates are lower on annual billing. Setup takes about 15 minutes. The trial is 14 days, card required, with nothing charged until it ends; cancel anytime. See plans and start your 14-day free trial.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a native ReputeMap–Housecall Pro integration?
No. There is no native integration today. What works right now is Zapier's built-in "Webhooks by Zapier" action posting Housecall Pro's Job Finished event to ReputeMap's public REST API (POST /api/v1/review-requests with an X-API-Key header). A native Zapier app is on our roadmap, not shipped.
Can ReputeMap send review requests by text message?
No, ReputeMap does not send SMS. It asks by email, QR code, and tracked short link, and from Growth it runs email campaigns with an automatic reminder. Housecall Pro's own review feature does send texts, so many shops keep the native SMS ask running and use ReputeMap for the email ask, reply drafting, alerts, and reporting on top.
Which Housecall Pro plan do I need for this setup?
Essentials, Essentials+ or MAX, because Zapier isn't included on Housecall Pro's Basic plan, per their own help documentation (Zapier Integration Overview, dated January 22, 2026). On the ReputeMap side any plan works — API access and per-org API keys, which the webhook recipe uses, are included on every plan, from Solo ($19/mo) up, and during the 14-day trial.
Is automatically asking every customer for a Google review allowed?
Yes. Asking every customer is fine under Google's policies and FTC guidance. What's prohibited is review gating: screening customers by sentiment and steering only happy ones to Google. ReputeMap never gates; unhappy survey respondents (surveys come with Growth and above) enter a detractor rescue queue so you can fix the problem, but everyone gets the same public review link.
How fast do negative-review alerts arrive?
Within minutes of the review appearing on your Google profile, by email, Telegram or WhatsApp on every ReputeMap plan (WhatsApp once the workspace is on full access), so the owner or account manager can respond during the window when a quick, thoughtful reply matters most.
Is ReputeMap better than Housecall Pro's built-in reviews?
For the Google side, yes in our view (ReputeMap wrote this page), and you don't have to choose: keep Housecall Pro's text ask running and add ReputeMap on top. Every ReputeMap request points at Google, a 1–3★ alert email carries a reply drafted in the reviewer's language that you can publish without logging in, one inbox covers every location, and Pro ($129/month) adds white-label reports for agencies. Housecall Pro's own feature covers the text ask, and replies with an AI suggestion on Premium Reviews; if that is all you need, it is included in every Housecall Pro plan.
Ready to manage Google reviews the smart way?
Agentic Reputation Platform for Multi-Location Brands. Start a 14-day free trial on any plan (card required). Setup takes about 3 minutes.
Get started