The Best Podium Alternatives for Small Businesses (2026)
Podium is a texting, payments and lead-conversion platform with reviews inside. If reviews are why you have it, here are the review tools with published prices, sorted by whether they still send review requests by text.
Reading this for your own business? See where it stands on Google right now — free, no signup.
Live from Google · free · nothing is stored
The quick answer: what replaces Podium for reviews
If you bought Podium for Google reviews and email or QR-code requests reach your customers, ReputeMap is the better choice for that job. It costs $19/mo for 1 location and $29/mo for 5, with every price published up to $399/mo for 200 locations, and runs month to month. There are no SMS credits or carrier fees, because requests go by email and QR code. And a 1–3★ alert email carries the AI-drafted reply, with a link to publish it without logging in.
Podium’s pricing page shows no prices: on October 1, 2026 it routed us to sales and a demo. Buyer reports put its Core plan around $399/mo for up to 2 locations. If your customers only answer texts, NiceJob ($75/mo) and GatherUp ($124/mo for 1 location) still send review requests by SMS at published prices.
Full disclosure: ReputeMap wrote this page and is one of the alternatives. Competitors are named, not linked, and every price carries the date we checked it.
First question: do your customers need a text?
Podium asks for reviews by text message. Whether you still need that decides your shortlist.
- You have customer emails (bookings, invoices, receipts) or see customers in person (counter, table, job site): email and QR-code requests work, and you drop SMS costs. Buyer reports put Podium’s 10DLC carrier registration at about $5 per US location a month, on top of the plan.
- You only have phone numbers: keep an SMS-capable tool. Four alternatives below publish prices and still send texts.
Either way, ask every customer, not only the happy ones. Filtering unhappy customers away from your review link (review gating) breaks FTC guidance and Google’s policies.
Podium alternatives by channel and price
| Tool | Review requests by | Published price | Two-way texting or payments | Trial and terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ReputeMap | Email, QR code and link (no SMS) | $19/mo for 1 location, $29 for 5, up to $399 for 200 | No | 14-day free trial, card required; monthly, cancel anytime |
| NiceJob | SMS and email, with follow-ups | $75/mo (Starter), $125/mo (Pro) | Not stated | 14-day free trial; no contract |
| GatherUp | SMS and email: up to 300 SMS and 3,000 email credits per location a month | $124/mo for 1 location; $75 per location at 2–10 | Not stated | 14-day free trial |
| BrightLocal (Grow plan) | Email, SMS and in-store campaigns | $65/mo for 1 location; $87 for 2–5 | Not stated | 14-day free trial, no card |
| Whitespark Reputation Builder | Email (3,000 requests, 100 a day) and SMS (300 credits) | $79 per location a month; 2+ locations quoted | Inbound texts (TextBack) listed; payments not stated | 14-day free trial, up to 10 locations |
| Birdeye | Email and SMS | Not published (reports: about $299–449+ per location a month) | Messaging and webchat; payments not stated | Demo call; annual contract (reported) |
| Podium | SMS-first | Not published (reports: about $399/mo for Core, up to 2 locations) | Yes: texting inbox and payments by text | Demo call; annual contract (reported) |
Last checked: Podium’s and BrightLocal’s pricing pages on October 1, 2026; GatherUp and Whitespark on September 29, 2026; NiceJob on September 27, 2026. Birdeye’s pricing page showed no prices when we last read it in July 2026. Podium’s plan figures and fees are buyer reports (WiserReview, May 2026), itemized fee by fee in our breakdown of the reported plan prices and fees.
The alternatives, briefly
The wider field, with free and sub-$20 tools included, is in the best Google review software in 2026.
ReputeMap: when email and QR codes reach your customers
One inbox for every location’s Google reviews, AI reply drafts you publish to Google, email and QR review requests with a one-click opt-out, and 1–3★ alerts by email, Telegram or WhatsApp. The alert email carries the drafted reply, and “Review & publish reply →” publishes it from a no-login page. Replies are drafted in the reviewer’s language. There are no credits and no carrier fees, because there is no SMS. Plans run from $19/mo (1 location) to $399/mo (200 locations).
NiceJob: texted asks for one business
Automated review requests and follow-ups by SMS and email on Starter ($75/mo); Pro ($125/mo) adds AI replies, NPS surveys and referrals. No contract. The pricing page doesn’t say whether prices are per location, so ask before adding a second one.
GatherUp: SMS credits per location, many review sites
Every plan includes up to 300 SMS and 3,000 email credits per location per month and monitoring across 100+ review sites. $124/mo for 1 location ($99 billed annually), then $75 per location a month at 2–10 locations. Ask what happens when a busy month uses more than 300 texts.
BrightLocal Grow: texted asks inside a local SEO toolkit
Review requests by email, SMS and in-store campaigns, review monitoring and replies across multiple sites, and a widget, with rank tracking and listings sync in the same plan. $65/mo for 1 location. The pricing page lists SMS campaigns but no SMS allowance, so ask.
Whitespark Reputation Builder: texted asks for a single location
300 SMS credits, 3,000 email requests (100 a day) and monitoring on 10 review sites for $79 per location a month. From 2 locations the price is a quote.
Birdeye: not a cheaper Podium
Birdeye is another quote-based suite with SMS, messaging and webchat; buyer reports put it at roughly $299–449+ per location a month. On those reported figures the two land in a similar range, so swapping one for the other is not a way to cut cost. Its own alternatives are compared in our guide to quote-free alternatives for small businesses.
Podium vs ReputeMap at a glance
| What matters | Podium | ReputeMap |
|---|---|---|
| Primary focus | Messaging, payments, lead conversion | Google review management |
| Price | Not published; reports: about $399/mo (Core, up to 2 locations) and $599/mo (Pro, up to 5) | Published: $19/mo (1 location) to $399/mo (200 locations), locations included |
| Extra costs reported | 10DLC about $5 per location a month, phone seats about $25–30 per user a month, AI Employee add-on (price not disclosed) | None: no add-ons; past a plan’s cap you move up a plan |
| Review requests | SMS-first | Email, QR code and link, to every customer |
| 1–3★ alert with the reply drafted | Not stated | Yes: email, Telegram or WhatsApp |
| Publish a reply without logging in | Not stated | Yes, from the alert email’s “Review & publish reply →” link |
| Replies in the reviewer’s language | Not stated | Yes |
| Multi-location view | Not stated | Rating, reply coverage, velocity and SLA per location (Growth and above) |
| Getting started | Demo call and a sales quote | Self-serve, about 3 minutes |
| Contract | Annual (reported) | Monthly, cancel anytime |
Podium’s figures are buyer reports, and Podium confirms on its own site only that the AI Employee is an add-on to any plan. Get your all-in quote in writing.
Why ReputeMap is the better buy for the review side:
- A published price that covers the locations. $29/mo covers 5 locations and $129/mo covers 30, against a Core plan reported around $399/mo for up to 2.
- No per-text costs. No SMS credits and no 10DLC carrier registration, because asks go by email, QR code and link.
- The bad review is answered from the alert. The 1–3★ alert email quotes the drafted reply, and “Review & publish reply →” publishes it from a no-login page; a Telegram private chat publishes in one tap.
- Replies in the reviewer’s language, and a dashboard of rating, reply coverage and response time per location from Growth.
- Self-serve and month to month. No demo call and no annual contract.
See the six ReputeMap plans and the locations each one includes.
When to stay with Podium: none of the alternatives on this page replaces Podium’s two-way texting inbox or payments by text. If those run your sales, stay with Podium.
Replacing Podium’s review texts without SMS
Here is the same job without a single text, as it runs in ReputeMap.
- Print a review QR code for the counter, the receipt or the job card. Make one in a minute with the free Google review QR code generator, or from ReputeMap, where each code is a tracked link.
- Email the ask after each visit. Single email asks are on every ReputeMap plan; email campaigns with an automatic reminder come with Growth ($79/mo).
- Ask everyone. Every request goes to every customer, with a one-click opt-out on each email. No gating.
- Switch on 1–3★ alerts to email, Telegram or WhatsApp, so the person who can fix the problem hears about it within minutes.
- Answer in the reviewer’s language. Drafts follow the language the review was written in, so a visitor’s review gets a reply they can read.
Ready to move the review side off Podium? Start a 14-day free trial: card required, cancel anytime, and your first location connects in about 3 minutes. Run it next to Podium until your contract ends.
ReputeMap is not affiliated with Podium, Google, or any vendor named on this page. We send review requests via links, QR codes, and email — not SMS.
Frequently asked questions
Is ReputeMap better than Podium?
For the review side of Podium, yes, if email and QR codes reach your customers. ReputeMap publishes every price, from $19/mo for 1 location and $29/mo for 5 to $399/mo for 200, and runs month to month; Podium shows no prices, and buyer reports (WiserReview, May 2026) put its Core plan around $399/mo for up to 2 locations. There are no SMS credits or carrier fees, and a 1–3★ alert email carries the AI-drafted reply with a link to publish it without logging in. Stay with Podium if its texting inbox or payments by text run your sales.
What is the best Podium alternative for Google reviews?
If email and QR-code review requests reach your customers, ReputeMap replaces Podium's review side from $19/mo for 1 location and $29/mo for 5, with every price published up to 200 locations. If your customers only answer texts, NiceJob ($75/mo) and GatherUp ($124/mo for 1 location) send review requests by SMS at published prices. None of them replaces Podium's texting inbox or payments by text.
How much cheaper is ReputeMap than Podium?
Podium's pricing page shows no prices (checked October 1, 2026). Buyer reports (WiserReview, May 2026) put its Core plan around $399/mo for up to 2 locations and Pro around $599/mo for up to 5, before 10DLC carrier fees and phone seats. ReputeMap is $19/mo for 1 location, $29/mo for 5, $79/mo for 15 and $129/mo for 30 with white-label, up to $399/mo for 200. Get Podium's quote in writing to compare.
Does ReputeMap send review requests by SMS like Podium?
No — ReputeMap does not send SMS. Review requests go out by email, QR code and link using honest, FTC-compliant asks: everyone is invited, with no review-gating and a one-click opt-out. That avoids SMS cost and carrier registration while still driving review volume.
Which Podium alternatives still send review requests by text?
With published prices: NiceJob (SMS and email requests from $75/mo), GatherUp (up to 300 SMS credits per location per month, $124/mo for 1 location), BrightLocal's Grow plan (email, SMS and in-store campaigns, $65/mo for 1 location) and Whitespark Reputation Builder (300 SMS credits, $79 per location a month). Prices are from each vendor's pricing page, checked September and October 2026.
Will I lose my Google reviews if I cancel Podium?
No. Your Google reviews and the replies you published live on your Google Business Profile, not inside any review tool, so they stay when you cancel. Before the contract ends, save any customer lists and message history you want to keep.
Ready to manage Google reviews the smart way?
Google review management for local businesses and agencies — start today or try any plan free for 14 days, set up in 3 minutes.
Get started